Who are the initiators?

EUROoCS was initiated by the ORCHID (Organ-on-Chip in Development) European
consortium of seven academic partners with the aim of:

Creating a roadmap for OoC technology.

Building a network of academia, research institutes, industry and regulatory bodies.

Raising awareness and building an ecosystem for OoC technologies.

The First EUROoCS Board:

  • Christine Mummery (chair; Leiden University Medical Center, the Netherlands)
  • Peter Loskill (vice-chair; Fraunhofer IGB Stuttgart/University of Tübingen, Germany)
  • Janny van den Eijnden-van Raaij (secretary/treasurer; hDMT, the Netherlands)
  • Albert van den Berg (member; University of Twente, the Netherlands)

EUROoCS Board as of July 3rd 2021

Peter Loskill

Full Professor for Organ-on-Chip Research at the Eberhard Karls University Tübingen

Andries van der Meer

Associate Professor at the Faculty of Science and Technology of the University of Twente

Christine Mummery

Professor LUMC

Janny van den Eijnden-van Raaij

Managing director of hDMT, the Netherlands Organ-on-Chip Consortium

Dries Braeken

Dries Braeken - R&D manager, imec

Martin Raasch

CEO and Co-founder of Dynamic42

Albert van den Berg

Professor University of Twente

Marco Rasponi

Assistant Professor Politecnico di Milano

Torsten Mayr

Associate Professor at the Institute of Analytical Chemistry and Food Chemistry at the Graz University of Technology

Erika Györvary

Technology Coordinator at CSEM

EUROoCS Industrial Advisory Board as of July 3rd 2021

Pelin Candarlioglu

Bioengineer/Cel Biologist GSK

Armin Wolf

Chief Scientific Officer at InSphero AG

Jochen Kühnl

Lab Manager Representative Cosmetics Europe Beiersdorf

Shuichi Chiba

General Manager, Global Scientific and Regulatory Affairs, San-Ei Gen F.F.I., Inc.

Barbara Birk

Principal Scientist and Veterinary Expert for Pharmacology and Toxicology at BASF

Lisa Benincosa

Global Head of Translational Medicine at Merck KGaA

Thomas Singer

Prof. Thomas Singer, DABT

EUROoCS Regulatory Advisory Board as of July 3rd 2021

Maurice Whelan

Head of the Chemical Safety and Alternative Methods Unit JRC

Susanne Fitzpatrick

Senior Advisor for Toxicology at the US Food and Drug Administration Foods Program

Susanne Brendler-Schwaab

Unit head for preclinical assessment of clinical trials at the German Federal Institute for Drugs and Medical Devices (BfArM)

Sonja Beken

Coordinator of the Unit of non-clinical evaluators at the Belgian Federal Agency for Medicines and Health Products (FAMHP)

Nathalie Delrue

Administrator of the Test Guidelines Programme (OECD)

Jose Tarazona

Senior Scientific Officer at the Scientific Committee and Emerging Risk Unit

Jacqueline van Engelen

Senior toxicologist and risk assessor at RIVM