September 24, 2019 EUROoCS

EUROoCS Awards 2019


During the closing ceremony of the first EUROoCS conference 2019 in Graz (Austria) a number of young scientists received an award. Travel Awards were offered to promote participation of students and selected from the submitted abstracts by peer-review. The Best Poster Awards were elected by voting of all participants in the conference. The Best Talk Award was chosen by the scientific committee and the session chairs.

Congratulations to the following awardees:

Best Talk Award

The Best Talk Award (€ 500) is sponsored by Biosensors, an Open Access Journal by MDPI. Conference Chair Torsten Mayr presented the award to Thomas E. Winkler (KTH Sweden) for his talk ‘Continuous barrier integrity monitoring in a micro-physiological human induced pluripotent stem cell (hiPSC) model of the blood-brain-barrier (BBB)’.

Thomas Winkler with the Best Talk Award

Best Poster Award

The Best Poster Award (€ 250) is sponsored by Roche. As a representative of Roche, Nikolche Gjorevski presented the poster awards to all recipients:

Sarah Spitz (Vienna University of Technology, Austria) for her poster ‘Parkinson’s Disease on a Chip: Culturing and Monitoring Human Midbrain Organoids (hMOs) Employing a Redox Cycling Sensor’.

Renée Moerkens (together with Joram Mooiweer) (University Medical Center Groningen, the Netherlands) for their poster ‘Modeling multifactorial gastrointestinal diseases in vitro’.

Ece Ergir with the prize for Sarah Spitz /Nikolche Gjorevski with Renée Moerkens

Shared poster awards for posters with an equal number of votes were presented to:

Amy Cochrane (Leiden University Medical Center, the Netherlands) for her poster ‘Developing Vessel-on-Chip technology to model vascular physiology and pathophysiology using human induced pluripotent stem cells’ and Mees de Graaf (Leiden University Medical Center, the Netherlands) for his poster ‘Scalable 3D Vessel-on-Chip model using hiPSCs derived vascular cells’

Johanna Chuchuy (Fraunhofer IGB, Germany) for her poster ‘Retina-on-a-Chip: Controlled illumination of a PDMS-free Retina-on-a-Chip for the proximity-culture of retinal organoids with pigment epithelial cells’ and Julia Rogal (Fraunhofer IGB, Germany) for her poster ‘WAT-on-a-chip: Microphysiological systems integrating human white adipose tissue’

Amy Cochrane and Mees de Graaf /Julia Rogal and Johanna Chuchuy

Student Travel Award

The student travel awards are sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim Pharma GmbH & Co. The travel awards were presented by Dr. Stefan Kauschke on behalf of Boehringer Ingelheim to the following awardees:

Marius Busche (NMI Natural and Medical Sciences Institute, Germany), Dennis Nahon (Leiden University Medical Center, the Netherlands), Oliver Schneider (Fraunhofer IGB, Germany) and Dimitrios Voulgaris (KTH, Sweden).

Marius Busche with the Travel Award / And an award for Dimitrios Voulgaris

Dennis Nahon with his Travel Award /And an award for Olivier Schneider

Sharing knowledge: the latest news

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Would you like to stay updated about Organ-on-Chip topics? Subscribe to our newsletter and receive monthly updates about EURooCS and Organ-on-Chip.